Friday, 5 August 2016

How To Design an App Prototype Template in Illustrator

Creating an app prototype template is fairly easy especially when you’re working with the right tools. Adobe Illustrator is not so popular with UI designers because it often requires users to switch between Photoshop and Illustrator for editing raster images and vector objects. Yet, when it comes to app design, Illustrator is definitely a winner.

The app UI design is usually simpler for a better performance on mobile devices. Designing an app prototype on Illustrator makes the template highly resizable and easy to customize. This tutorial on app UI design will guide you through the basics of creating app prototypes with Adobe’s best vector design software.

P.S.: The app title is totally random and does not represent nor support any existing app.

Quick Tutorial: Design Your Own App Prototype Template In Illustrator

Step #1: Prepare Your Artboard

Set the canvas size to the one that best matches your needs. You can see the different mobile device screen resolutions here.

Arboard for app

Step #2: Create a Layout Wireframe

App wireframe

Wireframing might sound complex but, in fact, it’s really simple. All you have to do is make a rough drawing of your app layout. You can do this on a piece of paper or use specialized software.

Step#3: Choose a Color Palette

Pick a color palette and stick to it. Consistency is an important factor for creating an appealing app prototype template. You can also check websites like Behance and Dribbble for some inspiration on a good color choice. If you want a quick solution, head to this article and try out one of the color picking tools listed there.

Step#4: Create Your App PrototypeTemplate

Menu app

Let’s start with the menu. In this particular app prototype template, I will create a 400 x 75 menu.

Clipping mask show

Now, let’s make a rectangle with 400px width and 565px height. This will be the background of the app. It can be solid or it can be a cropped image. To crop a photo in the size of the rectangle position it above the image, then, right-click on the image and choose “Make Clipping Mask”.

Set opacity

You can give your background image a dim look by putting another rectangle on it and lowering its opacity. You can paint the rectangle in any color and it will give the image underneath it a light tint, depending on what opacity style you’ve chosen.

Blur circle

This design layout will be our app’s home page so we’ll want to put the logo in the center. Since the background image contains many contrasting objects it will be hard for users to read text on it. To make the logo pop out we’ll place a solid object beneath it.

With the circle creation tool, draw a circle a size of your choosing. Give it a similarly blurred effect by selecting it and going to Effects > Blur > Gaussian Blur.

Layout 2

After putting the logo, we can proceed to the second layout. We’ll now replace two large gray rectangles with our featured images. Cropping an image in the shape of a specific object can be done with the Make Clipping Mask option as explained above.

Blurred text overlay

To make our article headlines readable we need to put a solid background above the featured image. You can create a nice transition between the photo and the background with a gentle blur. Draw a rectangle and select Effects. Since we already used the Gaussian Blur option, it will appear above all the other options in the Effects menu. Click it and it will apply the same effect as the one we created on the logo circle. To change the blur’s intensity, you can click on the Appearance settings in the right sidebar menu ( If you don’t see it, turn it on from Windows > Appearance ).

Blurred menu creation

Stretch the blurred rectangle outside the edges of the artboard. Now, create another solid rectangle with the width of your artboard. Its height should be slightly bigger than the blurred object. Place it above the blurred object and right-click to select the Make Clipping Mask option. Now combine the cropped blurred object with a solid rectangle to create a place for the article’s title, description, and additional information.

Hamburger menu

We should also create a menu icon. To do so, drag three identical lines with the Line Segment Tool  ( / ).

App design layoutTo format the text, play around with fonts and character spacing but make sure your text is readable.

Put a profile photo with the Clipping Mask option as shown above. Then, copy the first article box and paste it below to use the already formatted style.

Featured image design

Since the second box will be a featured article we’ll want to change the background color to something more eye-catching. Adding a simple “featured” badge to the post will also attract attention. To create a similar badge, draw a rectangle, set the stroke to 3 px and make the object transparent. You can do this from the Color Picker options in the left menu.

Create app menu

Now, let’s create the menu design. To create a custom icon for the toggled app menu, draw a small square with a 3px stroke. Use the Direct Selection Tool ( A ) to select specific lines from the square. Delete two adjacent lines to create a minimalist arrow that will show users that the app menu has been clicked.

Create an app menu

To create this app menu design you can use a shape with the size of the main menu ( 400 x 75 px ) and then copy it below for each app category. If the menu is long enough, it could cover the phone page so this particular design has a little “more” button integrated on the bottom.

Sign Up App template

For the last app page layout, we’ll create a Sign Up page. The information boxes have a classical ghost button style and a 3px-wide stroke. The profile portrait is created by grouping two circles with Ctrl (Cmd) + G and then cropping them with the Clipping Mask option in the shape of the profile picture.

Resources:

Photography: All photos are taken from Pexels.

Fonts: The font used in this tutorial is Montserrat.

If you’re looking for free resources for your app prototype design, you’ll love this article.

 

Learn more awesome design tricks with these tutorials:

28 Photo Compositing Tutorials for Adobe Photoshop

The 10 Best Parallax Design Tutorials Ever

The post How To Design an App Prototype Template in Illustrator appeared first on SpyreStudios.



from SpyreStudios http://spyrestudios.com/design-app-prototype-template-illustrator/

How to Build the Best ‘Start Here’ Page For Your Blog

How to Build the Best ‘Start Here’ Page For Your Blog

For a long time, when you visited a blog, you likely saw a few of the same pages – home, about, blog and contact – on every one you visited. Lately, I’ve recognized a new page popping up increasingly fast, and that’s the “Start Here” page. A “Start Here” page is a website’s starting point. […]

The post How to Build the Best ‘Start Here’ Page For Your Blog appeared first on Vandelay Design.



from Vandelay Design http://www.vandelaydesign.com/start-here/

Wednesday, 3 August 2016

WordPress Theme Giveaway: Win 1 of 5 Monstroid Copies

55966-original

55555-en_01

Would you like to enter the WordPress theme giveaway to win a flagship of multipurpose WordPress themes? Then, read on to learn more about it’s updated version and enter the Monstroid WordPress Theme Giveaway today!

The Monstroid WordPress Theme Has Been Updated With

New Child Themes

One of Monstroid’s major features is a large package of child themes. They offer ready-made designs tailored for a wide range of business categories. In that way, you can get a site for your specific niche up and running in no time. In the new series of updates, the package was extended with 5 new child themes for sports, architecture, politics, food, and games.

New Parallax Homepages

The updated version of Monstroid allows you to enhance a visual presentation of your content in new ways. For this, developers released three new parallax homepages. Check out one of them below.

monstroid-update-1.1.3-900x538

New Functions

Monstroid comes packed with tons of advanced features and plugins. In this series of updates, some of them were upgraded with new functions to extend your capabilities. Here is a brief list of them.

     – You can choose 1/3 and 1/4 ratios of the sidebar to the main content body.

     – Cherry Simple Slider got an option of customizing text and background colors.

     – It became possible to enable or disable an option of AutoPlay in Swiper Carousel.

     – The default “Next / Prev” text of pagination buttons can be edited in Portfolio.

     – User can arrange Portfolio items in an ascending or descending order and filter them by specified categories.

     – Now, Monstroid supports All-in-One Event Calendar and bbPress.

 

Enter the Monstroid WordPress Theme Giveaway today! Winners will be announced on August 11!

Read More at WordPress Theme Giveaway: Win 1 of 5 Monstroid Copies



from Web Design Ledger http://webdesignledger.com/wordpress-theme-giveaway-win-1-5-monstroid-copies/

Tuesday, 2 August 2016

Applying Paper Texture to UI Design Work and Free Paper Textures to Download

Applying Paper Texture to UI Design Work and Free Paper Textures to Download

Paper textures are extremely useful and versatile in web and graphic design. Whether it is brown paper, notebook paper, wrinkled paper, or something else, they are frequently used by designers. In this post we'll feature some of the best free paper textures that you can use in your UI design work. Always be sure to check the license and terms before using...

The post Applying Paper Texture to UI Design Work and Free Paper Textures to Download appeared first on Vandelay Design.



from Vandelay Design http://www.vandelaydesign.com/paper-textures/

Set up, Manage and Protect Your Apple Devices at Work

Set up, Manage and Protect Your Apple Devices at Work

If you have ever had to set up new devices, you know that it can require a decent amount of time to configure them all. This is especially true if employees have multiple devices. Even after setting up the devices, keeping an inventory of them, along with their settings and apps, can be quite tedious.

This is where a Mobile Device Management (MDM) solution can greatly reduce the time it takes to set up and deliver ongoing management. Bushel is a cloud-based MDM solution, which means that, after quickly setting up your devices, you can inventory and manage all of them quickly and consistently at anytime from anywhere. Pushing out settings to devices is simple. For instance, you can configure company email accounts or enter Wi-Fi passwords one time, and Bushel will push them out to all of your devices with a single click.

Enrolling devices in a management solution may sound like a lot of work, but Bushel makes it simple. When you sign up with Bushel, you are given a unique web address that you or your users can visit on a device that you would like to manage. The user provides answers to a few, simple questions and within a couple clicks, the device is enrolled and you are managing that device with Bushel...

The post Set up, Manage and Protect Your Apple Devices at Work appeared first on Vandelay Design.



from Vandelay Design http://www.vandelaydesign.com/set-manage-protect-apple-devices-work/

Creating a Dot Navigation Menu in Adobe Muse

Muse For You - Creating a Dot Navigation Menu in Adobe Muse 2015.2 - Featured

Adobe Muse Quick Tip #3 – Dot Navigation. No Coding Skills Required.

Muse For You - Adobe Muse CC Adobe Muse CC Logo

Menus are an important part of any website and can sometimes add an element of class and style to the website. You might be familiar with dot navigation menus that stay fixed to the left or right of a website and when a dot is clicked on it goes to a different section of the website. They are very slick and on the right website can fit in perfectly. Adobe Muse allows you to create a dot navigation menu easily with the “Tooltip” composition widget. After the menu is created you can link the dots to different sections of the website via anchor points. You can also have the menu names appear when you rollover the dots.Muse For You - Creating a Dot Navigation Menu in Adobe Muse 2015.2In the video tutorial above I go over how to create a dot navigation menu in Adobe Muse in under 10 minutes. This tutorial is part of the “Quick Tip” series where I give quick tips on Adobe Muse.

Happy Musing :).

Visit http://museforyoushop.com for more Adobe Muse widgets and video tutorials.

Read More at Creating a Dot Navigation Menu in Adobe Muse



from Web Design Ledger http://webdesignledger.com/creating-dot-navigation-menu-adobe-muse/

Monday, 1 August 2016

How to Cut Out Hair in Photoshop

Dansky_Learn How to Cut Out Hair in Adobe Photoshop

In this tutorial, we’re going to learn how to cut out hair in Adobe Photoshop.

The Steps (1-9)

1. Open your photo in Photoshop.

2. Right-click the Background layer in the Layers Palette, and select Duplicate. Switch off the Background layer, and keep this hidden in case you need to use or reference it again in future.

cutout-hair-adobe-photoshop-1

3. Select the Background Eraser Tool, and select a circular shaped brush at 100px in size. Set the Hardness to 50%.

cutout-hair-adobe-photoshop-2

4. Along the top of the screen there are several other options for the Background Eraser Tool. Set the Sampling method to Sample Once, and set the Limits to Discontiguous.

cutout-hair-adobe-photoshop-3

5. Setting the Tolerance level will require a bit of trial and error, depending on the complexity of the hair in your photo. If the Tolerance is set too low, not enough of the background will be removed, and if set too high, the Background Eraser Tool will remove other parts of the photo as well as the hair. For this tutorial, the Tolerance was set to 30.

6. Using the Eyedropper Tool, you can also Left-click on part of the hair to sample this colour. Next, with the Background Eraser Tool selected, select Protect Foreground Colour in the box at the top of the screen. This will protect any hair (and similar shades) that matches the foreground colour. This step increases the likelihood that the Background Eraser Tool will only cut out the hair, and not remove other parts of the photo accidentally.

cutout-hair-adobe-photoshop-4

7. Once your settings are correct, Left-click on the background and continue to Drag over the image. If the settings are correct, only the background will be removed, leaving the hair cut out on a transparent background.

8. Any other parts of the photo that may have been accidentally removed, can be reversed by going to Edit > Undo. If the Background Eraser Tool cannot effectively remove the background in certain parts of the photo, simply switch to the normal Eraser Tool, set a suitable Brush Size and Hardness (between 50-100%), and remove the background manually. Take care when cutting out the photo manually, and zoom in/out where necessary using the Zoom Tool.

cutout-hair-adobe-photoshop-5

9. Once you have cut out the hair/photo on to a transparent background, you can also add a New Layer underneath this layer in the Layers Palette. Using the Fill Tool, you can add the selected Foreground Colour (eg. white) to the new layer underneath the photo layer, allowing this to work as a background behind the newly cut out photo.

cutout-hair-adobe-photoshop-6

Download Adobe Photoshop.

Read More at How to Cut Out Hair in Photoshop



from Web Design Ledger http://webdesignledger.com/cut-hair-photoshop/